About Us

Nirman focuses on restoring the ecosystems with rich biodiversity and has specific intervention in agriculture, natural resource management and governance. The organization is concerned with issues relating to the negative impact of climatic variations and current development paradigm that has endangered the natural resources and traditional knowledge base. Thus, it yearns to have sovereignty over the seed, the soil, the land, water, the indigenous knowledge system and strives to achieve sustainable use of natural resources and democratize its governance pattern.

NIRMAN Legal Status

NIRMAN is a not for profit organization registered under the following Act.

  • Society Registration Act, XXI of 1860;
  • Foreign Contribution Regulation Act, 1976;
  • 12 AA of the Income Tax Act 1961 and
  • 80 G (5)(vi)of Income Tax Act 1961
Our Vision

Promoting equitable, just, resilient and sustainable human-environment system

Our Approach

  • Livelihood improvement through sustainable agriculture
  • Revival of Millets based bio-diverse farming system
  • Strengthening Human-environment system
  • Building community based Institution
  • Democratize Natural Resource Governance
  • Equity and Social Justice
Our Executive Committee

NIRMAN is governed by its Executive Committee (EC) that provides visionary leadership and frames policy for the organization. Each of the members of the EC is nominated by its general body. The members are having rich experience on rural development, sustainable agriculture, strengthening livelihood, cooperatives, human-environmental system, natural resource governance and conservation of bio-diversity. (Click for the list of Executive Committee)

Our Team

NIRMAN has a core team of professionals having extensive sectoral experience in sustainable agriculture, millets based farming system, rural livelihood, land and forest tenure, community empowerment and issues related to food security. The organization also hires the services of consultants/subject specialists as and when required. (Click for the list of Team members)